New Jersey Nursing Home Laws

New Jersey Nursing Home Injury Law | Firm Serving NJx

Nursing Home Negligence or Abuse

Statute of Limitations N.J. Stat. Ann. §2A:14-2

  • Two years.
  • The limitations can be delayed when a plaintiff was not, or reasonably could not have been, aware of the negligence.

Medical Malpractice

Statute of Limitations N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 2A:14-2 and 2A:14-21

  • Two years. For injured individuals who are under 21 years or mentally disabled, the statute of limitations does not begin to run until the disability is lifted.

Wrongful Death

Statute of Limitations N.J. Stat. Ann. §2A:31-3

  • Two years from date of death, unless the death was caused by manslaughter or murder.

Damages Caps N.J. Stat. Ann. §2A:15-5.14(b)

  • No defendant will be liable for punitive damages greater than five times their liability for compensatory damages or $350,000, whichever amount is greater.

The information provided here was prepared by the Pintas & Mullins Law Firm for research and informational purposes only. It does not constitute legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. While we try to keep this information current, the law is subject to change and it may not be reflected here immediately.

The Pintas & Mullins Law Firm expressly disclaims all liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on the information provided. If you have a legal question or problem, please consult an attorney immediately.