Maine Nursing Home Laws

Maine Nursing Home Injury Law | Personal Injury Firm

Nursing Home Negligence or Abuse

Statute of Limitations Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 24, § 2902

  • Three years from when the injury was discovered, or reasonably should have been discovered.

Damages Cap

  • None.

Medical Malpractice

Statute of Limitations

  • Three years from the date of the act or omission causing the injury. Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 24 § 2902
  • In cases involving leaving a foreign object in the patient's body, the statue of limitation begins when the patient discovers or should have discovered the harm.
  • If plaintiff is not competent, statute does not begin to run until the disability is lifted. Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14 § 853
  • These claims are subject to mandatory prelitigation screening panel procedures.

Damages Cap

  • None.

Wrongful Death

Statute of Limitations Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 18 § 2-804

  • Generally two years unless the death is caused by nursing home negligence or medical malpractice.

Damages Cap Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 18 § 2-804

  • Non-economic damages limited to $500,000
  • Punitive damages limited to $250,000

The information provided here was prepared by the Pintas & Mullins Law Firm for research and informational purposes only. It does not constitute legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. While we try to keep this information current, the law is subject to change and it may not be reflected here immediately.

The Pintas & Mullins Law Firm expressly disclaims all liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on the information provided. If you have a legal question or problem, please consult an attorney immediately.