Kansas Nursing Home Laws

Kansas Nursing Home Injury Law | Firm Serving KS

Nursing Home Negligence or Abuse

Statute of Limitations Kan. Stat. Ann. §60-513

  • Two years

Damages Cap Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 60-19a02 (1994) and 60-3702(1994)

  • Non-economic damages capped at $250,000 per plaintiff against all defendants.
  • In 2014, Kansas legislature enacted a schedule of upward adjustments through the next 10-15 years to compare with inflation.

Medical Malpractice

Statute of Limitations

  • Two years from when the injury was discovered, or reasonably should have been discovered.
  • Action cannot be brought more than four years from date of injury. Kan. Stat. Ann. §60-513(a)(7) and (c)
  • If claimant is incompetent, action may be brought within 1 year of end of disability, but no more than eight years from date of injury. Kan. Stat. Ann. §60-515 (1994)

Damages Cap Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 60-19a02 (1994) and 60-3702(1994)

  • Non-economic damages capped at $250,000 per plaintiff against all defendants.

Wrongful Death

Statute of Limitations Kan. Stat. Ann. §60-513

  • Two years.

Damages Cap Kan. Stat. Ann. §60-1903

  • Noneconomic damages are capped at $250,000. Economic damages are unlimited. Punitive damages are not permitted based solely on wrongful death, but are permitted in survivorship cases.

The information provided here was prepared by the Pintas & Mullins Law Firm for research and informational purposes only. It does not constitute legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. While we try to keep this information current, the law is subject to change and it may not be reflected here immediately.

The Pintas & Mullins Law Firm expressly disclaims all liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on the information provided. If you have a legal question or problem, please consult an attorney immediately.