When you are in an accident with a driver with an uninsured car, you might feel that your chances of fully recovering are limited. You should not have to suffer the consequences of someone who chooses to drive without insurance in California.
If you were in a car accident with an uninsured driver, the uninsured car accident lawyers at Pintas & Mullins Law Firm want to see if they may represent your case. Begin building your potential case against negligent drivers when you call our offices today for a free consultation. Reach us at (800) 794-0444.
Los Angeles California Car Insurance Requirements
According to California Vehicle Code § 16020, “all drivers and all owners of a motor vehicle” must carry “evidence of financial responsibility.” Some motorists abide by this law by carrying a card that validates an insurance policy with at least the minimum required amounts in the state. In order to register a vehicle with the state, all drivers in California must be able to prove this financial responsibility or insurance coverage.
The minimum dollar amount for required insurance coverage includes the following:
California Minimum Bodily Injury Liability (BIL)
- $15,000 minimum for the death or injury of another person.
- $30,000 minimum coverage for the death or injury of more than one person. The money is divided between accident victims if you are at fault.
California Minimum Property Damage Liability (PDL)
- $5,000 for any non-bodily losses experienced in an accident.
Like most state laws, car insurance requirements guarantee some form of financial relief in case a car accident causes damage to your body or your property. Driving without insurance is against the law and could result in an immediate license suspension or a lack of financial resources in an accident.
Pure Comparative Fault Rules
California abides by pure comparative fault rules when car accidents happen. Comparative fault rules assume that all parties involved in a car accident could have some percentage of fault. At the scene of an accident, a police officer can evaluate the percentage of fault that each party is liable for.
You have a right to call a Los Angeles uninsured car accident lawyer as soon as you are reasonably safe from harm. Pure comparative fault rules can limit what you may receive, but they do not prevent either party from pursuing additional compensation from the other party in an accident. You are only eligible to receive compensation from another party based on the percentage of the accident that they caused.
Legal Options for Uninsured Driver Accidents
Section 20008 of the California Vehicle Code legally requires an accident to be reported if there are any injuries or death . If you were a victim of the accident but not a driver, your involvement in the reporting process is still important. This is especially important for any insurance claims you might need to make related to the accident. Being involved in the logging process and actively seeking help for your claim shows a vested interest in recovering from the accident. Insurance companies may take this into account when adjusting your claim amount.
Our lawyers are primarily concerned with helping you recover after an accident. We aim for you to suffer no further harm as a result of the accident.
Claims to Pursue After Uninsured Driver Accidents
After an accident with an uninsured driver, you may seek compensation for any losses you had—physical, financial, or emotional.
- Personal Injury: File a personal injury case if the accident caused you to incur any additional medical bills, both short and long term. Personal injury lawsuits must occur within two years from the date of the accident according to California’s Code of Civil Procedures §335.1, and they can include any of the following compensatory awards:
- Emergency medical treatment bills (including ambulance costs)
- Long-term medical bills related to the treatment of your injuries from the accident
- Lost income or lost wages from an inability to work after your injuries
- Care costs for your financial dependents
- Property Damage: If anything other than your body was harmed in a car accident with an uninsured driver, you may need to replace it. A property damage lawsuit includes any non-bodily losses that you must file within three years from the original accident date. Property damage may cover any of the following:
- Cost to repair your car
- Value of the car if it was totaled in the accident
- Cost of renting a car
- Replacement value of investments and upgrades in the car
- Personal property damaged or lost in the accident
- Car seats
The claims mentioned above are not exhaustive of your legal options when you get into an accident with someone who is uninsured or under-insured. A Los Angeles uninsured car accident lawyer can assess all past, current, and future losses from the case. The lawyers at Pintas & Mullins Law Firm share a goal of handling your case so you can get back to recovery as soon as possible.
For a free legal consultation with a Uninsured Car Accidents Lawyer serving Los Angeles, call (800) 794-0444
Call Pintas & Mullins Law Firm for Uninsured Car Accident Representation
If you were in an accident with someone who drove without insurance, you have options for legal action.
If necessary, we will defend your rights in court for fair compensation. Speak with us about your case when you call Pintas & Mullins Law Firm at (800) 794-0444.
Call or text (800) 794-0444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form