If you or a loved one experienced a head-on collision, the lawyers at Pintas & Mullins Law Firm want to represent your case. Getting in a head-on collision in a car accident seems unreal until you experience one firsthand. However, given the varied and aging road infrastructure in Los Angeles, head-on collisions can happen when you least expect it. That is why like in most states, drivers in California have a duty of care for others on the road to prevent catastrophic car accidents like head-on collisions.
Get connected with a Los Angeles head-on collisions lawyer when you call our offices today: (800) 794-0444. We work on a contingency-fee basis, so you pay nothing upfront.
Factors in a Head-On Collision
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration defines a head-on collision as “A collision where the front end of one vehicle collides with the front end of another vehicle, while the two vehicles are traveling in opposite directions.” Some typical preventative measures to stop head-on collisions from happening appear in California as roadway signs, like those seen on the opposite direction of a highway entrance. In residential areas of Los Angeles, signs may caution drivers of narrow roads, oncoming traffic, and bans on larger vehicles like semi-trucks. All of these preventative measures give a hint at what frequently causes head-on collisions:
- Driving the wrong way on a road, especially if merging onto a highway
- Crossing road boundaries like traffic lanes without signaling
- Entering a main road from a smaller road
- Inappropriately passing on a 2-lane road
- Driving impaired, distracted, or drowsy
The list above is not exhaustive of all the reasons that head-on collisions happen. Regardless, when a head-on collision happens in California, it is treated the same as most other car accidents. According to Sec. 20008 of the California Statutes, a car accident must be reported within 24 hours if it resulted in any “injuries or death.” This includes any non-passengers who possibly suffered injuries, like pedestrians, cyclists, motorcyclists, and more. Plus, if you need to file an insurance claim, a police report will show the genuine need for your claim.
At the scene of an accident, a police officer will be able to determine fault in the collision. The next thing the lawyers at Pintas & Mullins Law Firm would advise you to do after you are relatively safe and sound from the accident is to contact us. From the start, we can begin building a strong, compelling case.
Accident Fault and Automobile Insurance Requirements
When you seek additional compensation from the other party in a car accident, it may require them to pay from outside of their state-required insurance policy. The insurance coverage requirements in California are as follows:
Minimum Bodily Injury Liability Insurance Coverage
- $15,000 minimum for the death or injury of another person.
- $30,000 minimum coverage for the death or injury of more than one person. The money is divided between accident victims if you are at fault.
Minimum Property Damage Liability Limits
- $5,000 for any non-bodily losses experienced in an accident
There is no way to predict who will get in an accident, and the extent of the potential damage, so some people opt to carry more than the state minimum in insurance coverage. In order to register your car in California, you must provide proof of this minimum insurance. If you drive without insurance, you may be at risk of having your license suspended, and in the event of a car accident, a serious financial risk. If you are in a car accident with someone who does not have insurance coverage, both parties are still eligible to pursue a settlement from the other.
For a free legal consultation with a Head-On Collisions Lawyer serving Los Angeles, call (800) 794-0444
Legal Options for Head-On Collisions
After a head-on collision with another vehicle in Los Angeles, you may consider pursuing a number of legal claims. The lawyers at Pintas & Mullins Law Firm can help narrow down your options in your favor and build the best case for you. Do not worry about the burdensome litigation process. Our lawyers will build your case from start to finish, so you can get back to recovering from the car accident.
Legal Claims for Head-On Collisions
The following claims may be applicable to your circumstances after a head-on collision:
- Personal Injury After Head-On Collision: Personal injury cases seek coverage of costs incurred from an accident, related to your injuries. The statute of limitations for personal injury cases in California is usually up to two years, per Sec. 335.1 of the California Statutes.
- Property Damage After Head-On Collision: To seek additional compensation to cover damages to your car or any other real property that is ruined from the accident, you will file a property damage claim. This type of claim typically has a statute of limitations of three years.
- Wrongful Death: If the other party’s careless driving caused the death of your loved one, you may be eligible to file a wrongful death lawsuit. This type of claim generally has a two-year statute of limitations from the date of the accident.
This short list of legal claims is not exhaustive of what you might consider pursuing after a head-on collision. Our lawyers know that your case is nuanced and that no two car accidents will be exactly alike. That is why it is important for you to call us as soon as possible, so we can quickly act on your best legal interests.
Los Angeles Head-On Collisions Lawyer Near Me (800) 794-0444
Call Pintas & Mullins Law Firm to Represent Your Head-On Collision Case
When you work with the lawyers at Pintas & Mullins Law Firm, know that your recovery is in good hands. We will fight to get you a fair settlement in a car accident lawsuit and fight to defend your rights in court. Do not handle a head-on collision lawsuit alone. Our lawyers want to get you back on the road to recovery. Call Pintas & Mullins Law Firm today: (800) 794-0444.
Call or text (800) 794-0444 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form